Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan takes on Neil Young, Bob Dylan & others on new ‘Imposter’ album

Columbia Records

Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan has announced a new album called Imposter, due out November 12.

Recorded in collaboration with the production duo Soulsavers, Imposter includes covers of songs written and/or recorded by artists including Neil Young, Bob Dylan, Charlie Chaplin, Nina Simone and ex-Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan, among others.

“[Gahan and Soulsavers] didn’t write these songs, but listened to them, studied them, and gave them new life,” reads a description of the album. “It is a reflection of Dave’s life, a story told by others, but in his own distinct voice.”

Gahan explains in a statement, “When I listen to other people’s voices and songs — more importantly the way they sing them and interpret the words — I feel at home. I identify with it. It comforts me more than anything else. There’s not one performer on the record who I haven’t been moved by.”

Imposter, which can be pre-ordered now, is the third collaboration between Gahan and Soulsavers, following 2012’s The Light the Dead See and 2015’s Angels & Ghosts. Depeche Mode’s most recent album is 2017’s Spirit.

Meanwhile, Gahan just released a cover of Metallica‘s “Nothing Else Matters” for the metal legends’ Blacklist tribute album, which dropped last month.

Here’s the Imposter track list:

“The Dark End of the Street”
“Strange Religion”
“Lilac Wine”
“I Held My Baby Last Night”
“A Man Needs a Maid”
“Metal Heart”
“Shut Me Down”
“Where My Love Lies Asleep”
“The Desperate Kingdom of Love”
“Not Dark Yet”
“Always on My Mind”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Jingle Bell Rock Clue Correction

There was an error in the bonus clue given out on Saturday, December 11, at Big Red’zzz Furniture and Mattress in Springdale. If you have that bonus clue, replace “twenty” with “fourteen.” We apologize for the error and good luck on your hunt!